Monday, 16 April 2018

Last Day Sect New Single 'The Witch House' ft Reeves Gabrels (The Cure, Bowie) Out Jun 8th 2018

Featuring Reeves Gabrels (The Cure, Bowie) it’s also available on 7” limited edition vinyl the EP also features the tracks ‘THE DEVIL’S ELIXIRS’ and ‘WHETHER THE DREAM’ featuring Morgan Fisher(Mott The Hoople, Queen)

All three tracks are taken from the forthcoming album ‘The Gothic Novel’ by Last Day Sect and will be premiered live at the bands single launch at The Water Rats on June 7th.

Last Day Sect is a London-based art rock band comprising an anti-supergroup of established musicians making ‘post-synthetic’ (a hybrid of guitar and synth) music.

‘The Witch House’ is based on the H.P.Lovecraft short story ‘The Dreams in the Witch House’ which explores disturbing alternative realities within the framework of the traditional Gothic motif of a witch and her familiar. This song features the renowned guitarist Reeves Gabrels – currently a member of The Cure and formerly a long-term artistic collaborator with David Bowie.

‘The Devil’s Elixirs’ is inspired by the Ernst Hoffman novel of the same name and is an ode to the irresistible pull of temptation. The verses of the track are spoken in Finnish with the bridge and chorus sung in English.

‘Whether The Dream’ is a short aria, again drawn from H.P.Lovecraft’s ‘The Dreams in the Witch House and features Mott the Hoople and Queen’s keyboard player Morgan Fisher.

Last Day Sect is:

Paul Cuddeford, producer, vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass, drums (Ian Hunter, Bob Geldof, Steve Harley, Lisa Ronson)

Tom Wilcox, producer, vocals (Lisa Ronson, Gillian Glover)

Terry Edwards, baritone sax (PJ Harvey, Gallon Drunk)

Plus very special guests:

Reeves Gabrels, guitar (The Cure, David Bowie)

Morgan Fisher, keyboards (Mott the Hoople, Queen)

Lisa Ronson (Earl Slick Band)


Paul Cuddeford
is a guitarist, multi-instrumentalist and composer with many years’ experience producing music for television and film. He is best known for his guitar playing for artists including Ian Hunter, Steve Harley, Lisa Ronson, Tom Jones, Bob Geldof, Cat Stevens and Paul Young. Paul co-wrote and co-produced Lisa Ronson’s debut album 'Emperors of Medieval Japan’.

Tom Wilcox
was the front man of 90’s art punk band Maniac Squat finding notoriety with their 1995 ‘hit’ F**k Off (Single of the Week in Kerrang!). Tom has since produced albums for Gillian Glover and Lisa Ronson; the latter, co-produced with Paul Cuddeford, receiving a 4-star review in Mojo and widespread critical acclaim. As a songwriter Tom has provided material for many bands including Lover and Florence Sabeva.

Reeves Gabrels
is an American guitarist, currently a member and touring internationally with The Cure (since summer 2012), one of Britain's best-known alternative rock bands. Gabrels is known for his long partnership with British singer David Bowie, with whom he worked regularly as guitarist, bandmate, co-writer and co-producer from 1987 to 1999. Before, during and since Gabrels has also independently pursued an active and wide-ranging international music career from bases in Boston, Los Angeles, New York, and London. Since 2006, he has lived in Nashville, Tennessee.

Gabrels met David Bowie during a Bowie tour in 1987 for which Gabrels' then-wife, Sara Terry, worked as publicist. Gabrels later (1989-1993) joined forces with Bowie and the Sales brothers (drummer Hunt Sales and bass player Tony Sales) in the rock band Tin Machine. Later, Gabrels became an essential part of Bowie's nineties sound, most notably on 1. Outside (1995), Earthling (1997), and 'hours...' (1999), the latter two of which he co-produced. Gabrels and Bowie also created the soundtrack to the computer game Omikron: The Nomad Soul in 1999 for the game's French publisher. Gabrels ended his professional association with Bowie in late 1999.

Morgan Fisher
although widely known for his work with Mott The Hoople in the early to mid-70's, has had a wide and varied career. Morgan has worked and collaborated with many artists in his varied career including, Queen, Yoko Ono, British Lions and Swing Out Sister. Morgan has done extensive work in solo improvisation concerts at the cutting edge arts and music club 'Superdeluxe' in Tokyo. He has also scored Japanese anime films.

Lisa Ronson
is the daughter of the legendary guitarist and songwriter Mick Ronson. Lisa was formerly vocalist in the New York band 'Secret History' before embarking on a solo career in 2014. Her solo work has brought her widespread plaudits for the imaginative sognwriting and the juxtaposition of synthetic and organic themes in her sound.

Terry Edwards
is a renowned musician who plays (among other things) trumpet, saxophone, flugelhorn, guitar and keyboards. Terry's life of musical collaborations reads like an A-Z of alternative the rock and pop world and includes: PJ Harvey, Gallon Drunk, Siouxsie Sioux, Madness, The Blockheads, Nick Cave, Jesus and Mary Chain.

Maija Sirén
is a Finnish choral singer who formed the cult East London band Weisskapelle in the late 2000’s.

Personnel by track

The Witch House
Lyrics by Tom Wilcox
Music by Tom Wilcox/Paul Cuddeford/Reeves Gabrels
Tom Wilcox: vocals
Lisa Ronson: backing vocals
Reeves Gabrels: guitar
Terry Edwards: baritone sax
Paul Cuddeford: guitar, keyboards, bass, drums

The Devil’s Elixirs [Paholaisen Eliksiirit]
Lyrics by Tom Wilcox and Maija Sirén
Music by Lisa Ronson, Tom Wilcox and Paul Cuddeford
Lisa Ronson: vocals
Maija Sirén: spoken vocals
Terry Edwards: baritone sax
Paul Cuddeford: backing vocals, harmonica, guitar, keyboards, bass, drums

Whether The Dream
Lyrics by Tom Wilcox (adapted from HP Lovecraft’s ‘The Dreams in the Witch House’)
Music by Morgan Fisher, Lisa Ronson, Tom Wilcox and Paul Cuddeford
Lisa Ronson: vocals
Paul Cuddeford: vocals, guitar
Morgan Fisher: keyboards

Produced by Paul Cuddeford and Tom Wilcox
Mixed by Paul Cuddeford
Recorded at Darwin Studios, London
Mastered by Ed Woods