Sunday, 25 March 2018

The Spectors Drop Their Second Album 'Ooh Aah Aah' on the 30th March

The Spectors release their second album 'OOH AAH AAH' on Friday 30th March. It will be available in various formats, including digital, limited white vinyl and cd. It features ten songs plus one bonus track, Clyde & Bonnie, a 2016 Record Store Day 7” release. It was recorded at Hightime Studio (Thomas Valkiers) and Deaftone Studio (Jannes Van Rossom) in Belgium and mixed at Jaya Jaya Music in Melbourne by Australian Michael Badger of The Demon Parade, best known for his work with King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard.

First single 'Borderline' inspired the album’s title with its ooh’ing and aah’ing, the London-set song tells a tale of sushi and love gone wrong and featured a video by Frederic Vanhalst and Didier Lenglaert.

Founded in 2012 by Marieke Hutsebaut, The Spectors’ demos soon caught the ear of Chris Urbanowicz, formerly of Editors. Chris produced the Belgians’ self-titled debut EP (2014) and full album Light Stays Close (2015). The band went on to perform at various indie festivals, including Dour, Pukkelpop and Leffingeleuren, and were hand-picked by Kevin Shields to support My Bloody Valentine in the hallowed grounds of the capital’s Ancienne Belgique.

After a particularly busy Summer, with the other band members eager to strike out on their own, Marieke decided to put The Spectors on hold. Looking to the future, she started writing material for a new album and experimenting with different line-ups, in the end settling on a return to dreampop basics and a quartet.

If anything, The Spectors sound even poppier – yet edgier – than before. Indeed, the sparkling music sometimes belies the lyrics, as Marieke chronicles her life with Asperger’s in poignant, melancholy three-minute songs.

Pre-Order ‘Ooh Aah Aah’

The Spectors Online

01 Borderline
02 When The Morning Falls
03 Only You
04 Leader Of The Pack
05 Be My Baby
06 Sink
07 Death Fugue
08 Soul
09 Dorothy
10 Labyrinth Of Faces
Clyde & Bonnie (Bonus Track)

Location: Belguim
Shows: New Release, Noise Pop, Indie Pop, Indie Rock
For Fans Of: Wolf Alice, Best Coast, Beach House